Dale Carnegie’s tips still work 

Last weekend I went to wedding banquet.

That was quite fancy celebration: lovely music, beautiful decorations… The restaurant was completely packed with hundred of people whom I haven’t met before. 

I don’t really love big celebrations (I even hate an idea of wearing high heeled shoes). 

I sipped some red wine and headed to the patio to get a breath of fresh air. Couple minutes later a man came up to me with a cigarrete in his mouth and began a conversation. Hmmm… Literally, he began a Monologue.

The man was a father of bridegroom and seemed to be bored with party also.

He told me lots of travel stories ( which I love!), so the monologue was quite curious and interesting. 

I just kept nodding, wondering and  saying “Hmmm”, “Really?”, “Wow!”… and sipping my drink.

But the point is I haven’t said a real word during our 20-30 min. “conversation”.

Next day few guests called me saing “The bridegroom’s father said you are a great conversationalist and he enjoyed your company so much… What have you been talking about?”.

I was quite surprised. I literally haven’t said a thing to be “nominated” as a good conversationalist.

Hah… Dale Carnegie was absolutely right saying the following:

Six ways to make people like you:

  • Become genuinely interested in other people.
  • Smile.
  • Remember that a person’s name is to that person the sweetest and most important sound in any language.
  • Be a good listener. Encourage others to talk about themselves.
  • Talk in terms of the other person’s interests.
  • Make the other person feel important – and do it sincerely.

Such a curious experience…

One thought on “Dale Carnegie’s tips still work 

  1. Yes,
    Dale Carnegi’s tips still working and let me try on you.
    -Become genuinely interested in other people.
    I am interested in your friendship.
    -Remember that a person’s name is to that person the sweetest and most important sound in any language.
    Nyurah is your name.
    Don’t you think these much enough to be a best blogging friendship, whenever you have spare time please visit my blog, read my few posts and if you feel I am worth of your friendship, pleas leave comment on my any post, that will be the beginning of best blogging friendship, remember, everything is optional.
    By the way, K.L. Register is my good friend and from whose blog I have found you.
    Wishing you all the best…………………

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

